The Urban Hustle

This past week I got the opportunity to do something totally different from what I usually post…an interview! Sarah Bernstein is the creator behind The Urban Hustle, a website that showcases some amazing bloggers, musicians, and artists.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Where were you raised/currently live?

I was born and raised in Vancouver but have been living in Kelowna the past 6 years. I am in my last year of University finishing up my Bachelor of Fine Arts degree at UBC-Okanagan.

What made you want to start The Urban Hustle?

For me it brings me joy and I love having something to continuously work on and strive to make better each day. The Urban Hustle has become my personal outlet and a way for me to express my creativity along with learning the entrepreneurial side of expanding a business. With my experience in editorial writing and social media I wanted to branch out into my own work. I am my own boss and I love it! I am free to pick topics that I am interested in and reach out to the people that I want to collaborate with or interview for my website. I love the arts industry and I think people sometime underestimate how powerful and successful people can be. The whole arts/tech and social media world is expanding and I’m happy to be immersed in all of it.

Do you have any advice for someone who is thinking about starting their own website?

Just go for it and keeping persevering. It might not happen right away- I had a hard time planning and designing the layout of my website when I first started but I am continuously working on it everyday- even if it’s just a small tweak.

Who are two people that you look up to in the fashion industry and why?

I have always loved Kourtney Kardashians style. She is able to mix more laidback items of clothing such as Levi jeans, with a plain shirt and a glitzy choker necklace. I also love her rocker t-shirt dresses, oversized shirts and velvet boots. Rihanna’s style is so bold- she puts herself out there and reps couture items that weirdly only she can pull off, but she does it with confidence and I really admire that.

What are some of your favorite shops in Vancouver? What are some of your favourite brands?

My favourite shops in Vancouver are Topshop, Aritzia, Forever 21, H&M, Zara, Oak and Fort and F as in frank. Some of my favourite brands are Vetements, Adidas and Balmain

What are your top 5 wardrobe staples?

My top wardrobe staples are- black jeans, choker necklaces, black ankle boots, leather jacket and sneakers of course- I’m a huge sneaker collector

Part of The Urban Hustle focuses on music, are there any artists in particular that you’re loving right now?

I love music! It is a big part of my life as I grew up playing piano, singing and playing guitar. I love and appreciate all types of music but right now I love Banks, Frank Ocean, Post Malone and The Lumineers.

fullsizerender-1

Do you have anything else you would like your viewers to know?

Don’t give up! Do what makes you happy- there’s nothing else more rewarding than creating your own happiness and doing what you love. Work hard for what you believe in.

 

 

Leave a Reply

